Cost of Education & Financial Aid Schedule
The Academic Year
The academic year runs from August to August with a maximum yearly Federal Direct loan limit of $20,500. Initial awards are for the fall and spring semesters. Summer applications are separate and are available online in the spring of each year. For on-time applicants, financial aid awards are released no earlier than 10 days before the first day of classes each semester. Funds will first be used to pay university charges owed at the time the funds are received, i.e., tuition and fees, on-campus housing bills, etc.
Total Cost per Academic Year
The cost of education (see table below) is an estimated average of attendance for a nine-month period of enrollment beginning in the fall semester and ending in the spring semester. For summer costs, click here.
|Tuition and Fees*||$22,882||$32,842|
|Room and Board||$9,760||$9,760|
|Books and Supplies||$1,200||$1,200|
|Personal and Misc.||$2,800||$2,800|
* Estimated cost based on 30 semester credit hours (August through May). For more details on tuition and fee schedule, click here.
Students who move to Texas after reaching the age of 18 are considered to be nonresidents unless they have resided in the state for other than educational purposes for a period of 12 months immediately preceding enrollment. Questions of residency status frequently arise concerning members of the Armed Forces assigned to duty in Texas and persons who have been Texas residents but have moved out of Texas for employment.
Applicants in these and other circumstances involving questionable residency status should seek clarification from the Law School. Applicants will receive information on programs and costs for student health services, student insurance, recreational sports, student parking, and other matters at student orientation immediately prior to the beginning of the fall semester.
For detailed information regarding residency status, refer to the Texas Administrative Code.
For more detailed information regarding residency, fees, veterans' exemptions from fees, refund policies, and loans, see the finance section in the university catalog available here.
Out-of-State Tuition Waiver Program
Texas law allows an out-of-state student (non-resident) who receives a competitive academic scholarship of at least $1,000 for the academic year to pay the significantly lower tuition rates otherwise available only to Texas residents. This award results in an additional benefit of more than $8,000.
For different options on payment, see the Student Business Services site.
NOTE: A student cannot receive grants, scholarships, and loans in excess of the cost of education, even if the academic year limits allowed on aid programs are more than the cost of education.
Payments and Refunds
After all university charges are paid, the balance of your financial aid funds will be issued either in the form of a check mailed to you by Texas Tech University, or through Automatic Check Deposit (ACH). Please contact Student Business Services (SBS) at (806) 742-3272 or visit their Web site here for information regarding the necessary forms and information for direct deposit authorization.